new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

the job rollercaster is slowly coming to a stop
11/24/04 ~ 2:47 p.m.

my boss has no appointments today. that is not good for my internet time, because she could come running out and be over my shoulder at any time. grr.

speaking of my current employment, there have been new developments. let's review, shall we? i'll do it with a timeline.

Jan 04 - hired full time. promised permanant employment indefinately.

Feb 04 to July 04 - uneventful. good enough job. 3% raise in july.

Aug 04 - two months disability due to knee surgery.

Oct 04 - return to work to discover that my boss is not making enough money. ask her about it, and she agrees that i will be laid off when the other broker moves out in january. decide to persue nutritionist path, make a contact who helps put my resume out and mentions she may have a position for me.

early Nov 04 - find out that the nutritionist won't have a spot. she offers to give my resume to the health center, where a girl has not shown up for her job for a week.

mid Nov 04 - my boss announces that she thinks that she may have found a way to keep all employees and wants a commitment from me. i beg off, insisting that i need to wait until i hear back from the health center.

yesterday - get email from najine, the nutritionist, which states that the girl has come BACK to her job, and also, she hasn't given my resume to them yet. but she will on 11/23, in case they have any jobs. sounds bleak.

today - my boss unveils her plan to have the other two assistants help this broker with his move until mid-feb, and then she'll pay to have all of us until a NEW broker starts working here, hopefully by march. then i was told by leanne in private that i am the most important because i provide a type of stability in my schedule that the other two cannot provide. am basically begged to stay.

so now, i may not even get a call from the health center, but i'm guaranteed my job for at least... oh, 18 months. because that's how long the NEW broker will work in our office, once he starts. so, yeah. i'll probably stay here. it's decent pay, got benefits, and i don't hate it. i've just been hating it the last couple months because of all the uncertainty. i won't know for sure until i hear from the health center, though. if for some crazy reason they can offer me a better deal, i'll take it. but i have my doubts.

meanwhile, i AM still persuing the dietetics degree. the first step is going to be two night classes at the junior college next semester. the first day i can register for them is dec 13th, and i've got it on my calendar.

could it be that i'm figuring my life out?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

one year ago: onlookers are wondering what will happen with those two. simply new friends, possibly future coworkers (she got him an interview), or something more? the future is not clear at this point.
two years ago: no entry
three years ago: [same entry as yesterday, different part] I'm a Ramblin' Wreck from Georgia Tech and a hell of an engineer...

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland