new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

georgia on my mind
11/22/01 - 11/25/01 ~ 1:09 a.m.

sick. that's what i am. totally sick.

to be fair, i'm one of those people who rarely get sick, so when i do, i'm all pathetic-like. all "poor me, i'm dying" when it's just a cold. i caught it from heather, who was sick all of last week. she says hers lasted 6 days, so i have 3 to go. sudafed and nyQuil (big fucking Q) have become my best friends. and i'm feeling much better than i was say, friday and saturday. but it did suck to be sick for 2 of the 3 days i got to spend with ned. but it was still a great time.

so i left on wednesday, and i got to the airport 2 hours early, like a good girl. it was totally quick though. two security checkpoints and everything, but not too many people cuz it was only about 12:30 and most people were probably taking night flights to go see their families. in fact, my flight was very empty. i had my whole row to myself. i laid down (didn't sleep) and i also watched the movie during the flight, which was princess diaries. it was cute, and took up some of the long trip. ned's friends randy and erika brought him to pick me up, so the four of us headed back to atlanta. i had met randy and erika last time, so it was good to see them again. they just dropped the two of us off at ned's dorm room for some, um, alone time. it was so sweet to be with him again. i missed him so much. the bad part was the sleeping -- although it was nice to be sleeping beside him once again, a twin bed is not big enough for the both of us. you've seen the pictures. we're not small people. so that was uncomfortable and resulted in not very much sleep.

thursday -- we slept in till about 10, got up and showered, and had randy and erika pick us up for thanksgiving (ugh, i hate not having a car! i don't know how ned stands it.) basically, we just hung out all day while erika cooked. she's a vegan, yet makes fantastic food of all kinds, including the turkey with a sausage stuffing. amazing. i made the green bean casserole ned wanted. for dinner it was me, ned, erika, randy, and jack. this is funny, cuz jack was the plunger guy that we met hanging out when i was in GA in april. they ending up really liking him and he practically lives over there. and i was there, man! i feel so cool about that. ok... moving on. so we all had dinner, watched half baked (most people were baked themselves, but not me this time) and then played a nice long game of cards. it was a drinking game in which i managed to make one beer last the whole time by hardly drinking. ha ha. some more people came over and i'll have to list them to keep track:
carla - one of randy & erika's roommates
jon- carla's boyfriend who lives there too
clinton- a random friend of theirs
wampus- another roommate, his real name is george
plus of course, randy, ned, me, erika, and ned. so it was a fully house. it stayed like this for pretty much the whole weekend. so erika drove ned and i home at about 4 am.

friday -- we slept in till after one. it was nice. then we hung around ned's room till about 6 p.m., when randy and erika came and brought us back over. this time i packed toiletries and pills and stuff so that i could stay the night if that was needed. we ate leftovers, then went to go see spy game. it was very good. i love espionage stuff. ned was being very sweet - holding my hand, etc. in front of all his friends. it was amazing. it made me feel so special. when we got back, all those people we mentioned earlier were there, except clinton. he never came back. we then watched momento, which was excellent. i loved it. too many movies, i know. erika had bought a star wars lego set and spent a nice long time putting that together. randy had gotten a dreamcast, so the guys played a lot of games and i watched and talked and just had a nice, leisurely time. by this time, carla, jon, erika, randy, and i were all sick. i took some sudafed and then ned and i went to sleep on erika's twin bed (once again, too small!) at about 5 am.

saturday -- i got up at about 12, i think. jon and wampus had already gone to work. jack was up, so he and i talked while he had a cigarette outside. (they all smoke! ugh! and ned does a little now. not my favorite, but whatever.) then jon came home for his lunch break and brought everyone who was sick an orange. isn't that cute? erika made eggs, and we hung around a bit. we played star wars: episode one monopoly. i was totally kicking ass, which is amazing cuz i usually lose at monopoly. we called the game at about 6 so that ned and i could leave for go to his school's football game.

i was still pretty sick but i wanted to go pretty badly. we walked over (it was pretty cold, but i had a fever) and haggled with some scalpers before finally landing 2 tickets for $75 each. ouch. but it was the TECH vs. georgia game, so the prices were high. it was a fun game, despite the fact that TECH lost. i got really into it and jumped and screamed and cheered. if nothing else, i learned the fight song:

I'm a Ramblin' Wreck from Georgia Tech and a hell of an engineer,
A helluva, helluva, helluva, hell of an engineer,
Like all the jolly good fellows, I drink my whiskey clear,
I'm a Ramblin' Wreck from Georgia Tech and a hell of an engineer.

Oh, if I had a daughter, sir, I'd dress her in White and Gold,
And put her on the campus, to cheer the brave and bold.
But if I had a son, sir, I'll tell you what he'd do.
He would yell, "To Hell with Georgia," like his daddy used to do.

Oh, I wish I had a barrel of rum and sugar three thousand pounds,
A college bell to put it in and a clapper to stir it around.
I'd drink to all good fellows who come from far and near.
I'm a ramblin', gamblin', hell of an engineer. hey!

so yeah. we walked back to his dorm and ordered pizza cuz i realized that being sick had diminished my appetite and i hadn't eaten more than that orange and some eggs. we went to sleep at about 3 am, and got up at about 6 am.

this morning -- i made sure everything was packed and we walked to the marta station so i could catch the subway to the airport. for some reason, it wasn't running in the right direction so i had to call a cab (another $28 down the drain!). we scrambled around and got one to pick me up. i had to say goodbye to ned right there on the street. sad.... but he *is* coming home in about 3 weeks, so that's very good. my flight home was pretty much just me sleeping he whole way. i doped myself up with sudafed and tried to not wake up except for my fruit breakfast. it was packed at the airport and on my plane. sigh. it takes forever to go somewhere nowadays. but as i'm scared of planes, the extra security does make me feel safer. brooke and robert picked me up and we went out to lunch at redrum burger.

now i'm home, and typing this up rather than sleeping cuz i napped for most of the day today. i didn't even go work on my program with andy, but i will tomorrow. well... the nyQuil is hitting me, so i better wrap this one up (long enough, ya think??) and talk to all of you later.

~holly~

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland