new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

my costume!
10/12/04 ~ 3:11 p.m.

i got my halloween costume! if you want to see who i'm going to be, click here. (her name is sally, if you forgot since it's been a long time since you've seen that movie).

halloween plans are as follows: either a group of us will be going to sing kareoke at a bar that night, or that group will stay at my house and it will be an impromptu party. justin b. and his woman will be coming, as will jeannine. hopefully sabrina and some of that gang will be up for it as well.

the nutritionist update
10/12/04 ~ 1:03 p.m.

i've been spending a lot of my time lately researching and thinking about my plan to become a nutritionist/dietician. if it's what i really want, it will take a lot of time, money, and hard work. specifically, here's what i've found out so far:

  • there are no colleges within (daily) driving distance that offer a bachelor's degree in nutrition or dietetics.
  • there is one college that offers an online degree - eastern michigan university. this is not a degree from a career college like heald or phoenix. it's a real college with an online program, and the degree you receive is the same as if you were in michigan.
  • it's a two year program that has to begin in the fall.
  • there is a list of classes that must be taken before admittance into the program. there are probably 10 i need to take. so there's some time spent already. michigan is willing to help me find comprable courses and help me figure out my schedule before admittance.
  • first you get admitted into the college, then the program. it's stiff competition.
  • the cost is the same as if i were a michigan resident. that's cool -- but it's still about $7500 per year. so that would be adding another $15k to my existing $15k of student loans. sigh. not to mention those 10 classes i'm taking before applying...
  • i'd have to get a clinic to 'sponsor' me, meaning they;''d have to allow me to use their labs for my work and sign off that i've completed certain things.
  • it's not easy. once in the program, i'd probably have to work part time, if that. there are required lab hours per week, and near the end, it's as much as 32.

so even if i go for it, i'll probably spend the next year and a half taking classes. it could be 2 and a half if the available classes don't fit into my schedule. then 2 more years doing the program. i won't BE a nutritionist for at least four years. damn, that's a long time.

so anyways, my meeting with the local nutritionist is next friday, the 22nd. i'm going to come armed with all my information and try to figure it all out.

i really think this is what i want. i would feel proud when asked about my job to be able to say "i'm a dietician." i'd feel happy to help other people lose weight and get healthier. i think it would be a good fit for me.

i just hope it all works out.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

one year ago: i guess i just want to know when it will get better. will it ever?
two years ago: jasmine doesn't like him much... well, she'd like him for dinner.
three years ago: [amy giving me advice]: Please tell me you are keeping your eyes open for guys to pursue and not hung up on the nedmeister. Ask to "study" with them. It never fails, and "study breaks" are always needed. Be brave. [sidenote: dude! that's what happened with david and i! we studied together! so awesome.]
four years ago: i am never helping anyone out on wednesday night again.

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland