new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

my very own love story
09/02/04 ~ 11:14 a.m.

it was nearing the end of my first quarter at davis. i was saving a seat in the back row of a very crowded class for my lab partner. 5 minutes after class had started, he wasn't there, and it was the only empty seat in the class. a guy came over and asked if he could have the seat. i said 'sure', and david climbed over. i didn't pay much attention to him until i realized that he know everything the teacher was going to say before he said it. aha!, i thought. someone to help me pass classes is a good person to know. i asked him if he'd want to come to a study group for the final, and we exchanged email addresses. the next week, he was struck with a terrible illness and barely managed to take the final himself. he didn't study with us.

i spent christmas break with my "friends with benefits" boy, and skipped the first day of winter quarter because it was a friday. my lab partner and i had signed up for the same classes, and he promised to get me what i needed. so i came home on sunday to an email from my lab partner saying that he had not olny dropped the classes but changed majors. fucker. so i panicked for about 10 minutes, and then emailed the only person i know from the previous quarter: david. i told him which classes i was in and begged for his help. turns out he was in one of my computer classes and agreed to be my lab partner.

i wasn't interested in him romantically, but we hung out a lot because our programs were difficult. we were a good team, and got good grades, so we remained lab partners for spring quarter. it was apparantly around this time that i started to freak him out - he picked up flirtatious vibes from me and thought i was trying to seduce him. he used to call me "psycho girl" to his friends. he has told me that if his grades weren't dependant on it, he probably would have stopped hanging out with me. but so it goes.

in june, i got a group of friends together to celebrate his 21st birthday. we took him to all the bars in davis, and he got a free drink at each one. then we all bought him more. he had a great time... for a few hours. then he became so sick that he totalled a bar bathroom and got kicked out. someone helping us on the streets had been an EMT, and suggested we get him to a hospital. he had alcohol poinsoning, and in the ER, he stopped breathing for a bit. it was scary, but they gave him injections and oxygen, and set him free a few hours later with strict instructions that i was to stay up all night and watch him. i took him to my place, where he crashed on my couch, and proceeded to use my closet as a toilet. it was horrible, awful, and hilarious. that night, he let me know how much he trusted me and i realized we'd become good friends.

summer came and i took off to france with my "friends with benefits" boy. it was fun, but nothing special. when i left, i kinda knew that was the end. but i didn't say anything. i returned to davis and resumed working for the summer. david was in town as well, and i would often call him to come over to go swimming after work. then he'd stay and watch movies, have dinner, etc. i started suspecting that he had a crush on me. but i swore i didn't have the same feelings. this went on for a few weeks and it suddenly hit me - what i was looking for was right under my nose. but he was too much of a gentleman to make a move on someone with an "almost boyfriend." so i ended that silly "sort of" relationship and i knew that if i wanted to date david, it would have to be up to me.

on july 17, 2002, i invited him over to swim, like we always did. then we decided to watch a movie. in my bed. i chose the movie "playing by heart." romantic comedy. i spent the first half of the movie slowly inching closer to him on the bed, until i was spooning him. my heart was pounding as i put my arm around him. i was scared to death for the few moments before he covered my hand with his. we watched the rest of the movie like this, too scared to move.

after the movie was over, i told him that i'd ended things with the other boy. i didn't know what i was feeling, what he was feeling, but we just went with it. he stayed over that night, but nothing more than first kisses and cuddling went on. it was a month or so later, after dating a while, when i realized i loved him. and the rest is history. :)

our first picture as a couple:

our two year anniversary:

sorry so long, but i wanted to be complete. i feel so sappy now!!

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland