new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

poy: role models
09/01/04 ~ 8:08 a.m.

written for:

Tell us about your role model. How did you get to know him/her, and what was the reason behind your decision in choosing them? Most of all, which part of them do you admire?

i used to have a certain teacher as a role model, and i just realized that she's not anymore. it was a computer science teacher, adn i admired how successful she'd been. she'd been out in the professional world, made a lot of money, and then "retired" young, had kids, and taught part time at a junior college. i thought that's what i wanted.

i got my computer science degree, and i haven't gotten a professional job in my major. and i'm not sure that's the direction i'm headed in anymore.

instead, i found a new role model that's based on what's important to me right now. i'm still trying ot lose this excess weight, and i really draw inspiration from those who have succeeded.

and so, i've chosen julie as my role model.

she worked hard to lose the weight, and she works hard still, just to keep it off. luckily for me, she writes essays about different topics every day, and they end up in my email inbox as a reminder and a daily inspiration.

i've never met her in person, but i bet she's wonderful. hard working, determined, and REAL.

poy: mirror, mirror
09/01/04 ~ 8:01 a.m.

written for:

Have you ever stared in the mirror so long that you became a blur; like you didn't look like you anymore? Or that you saw way beyond what you look like and deeper into who you are?

This week, take a look in the mirror... Really take a long look at yourself. What do you see?

if i really stand and stare at myself in the mirror, i first see the things i don't like: hair with breakaway strands, bump on my nose i've had since i was 3, chubby cheeks, red face, pudgy tummy. i end up focusing on my imperfections.

but when i'm just passing by a mirror, or maybe brushing my hair or something, i see an entirely different me. i see a happy girl, who likes her life and herself. i generally like who i am and what i look like, and it's only if i focus on the imperfections that i get down. so i try not to focus and i continue to walk quickly by mirrors.

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland