new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things


03/19/03 ~ 2:41 p.m.

as i'm sitting at lunch, reading an article called "habits of so-happy couples" in the new cosmo and thinking that we might possibly fit all of the categories, my phone beeps. it's a text message from david:

"Final went well. I love you. When you come home tonight, I'll fix dinner. we can snuggle. :-)"

wow. i not only smiled, i got butterflies. the same ones you get when the guy you like calls you, or you hear "i love you" for the first time. it means a lot because he doesn't send me sappy messages all the time. not so much that i expect it, just enough to suprise me. i have a little collection saved on my phone. and he's saved a few from me. hee.

most of the time, after talking about what happened between other couples, be it situations / fights / breakups, one of us comments that it makes us realize what we have and how good it is. we compare our relationship to ones on TV and in the movies, and we always win. because we love each other, we put in the effort, and because we're REAL.

ok, so we haven't hit the one year mark yet. in that respect, we're still a "new" couple. as many of my friends agree, it's 2 1/2 years that is the trouble spot... and we've got a ways to go for that. but on the other hand, this is our 6th month of living together. shouldn't living together count double time? it's a different kind of relationship... less dates, more dishes. i'm not complaining, because i love having my best friend and boyfriend around all the time, i'm, just saying that we've spent a lot of time together, enough that we don't feel "new".

it's not like we're both in sunny moods and do everything perfectly all the time. we don't have sex every night, or even each time one of us wants it. sometimes sex is dissapointing. (ok, not often. what can i say? he's good to me.) we can annoy each other, piss each other off, etc. but it's never a huge deal. he gets mad when i don't apply myself, it drives me crazy when he takes showers that are longer than 30 minutes. he hates to hear me say how stupid i am (pretty much cuz i'm not and i know it), i hate when he cooks all his food in grease and gets grease all over the kitchen. he hates that i leave clutter all over the bathroom counter, i hate when his shavings are in the sink or on the floor. but none of those things are terminal. better yet, they're all fixable. =) cuz if there's a problem, we don't yell or avoid or break up. we fix it.

i don't know if i'm saying this eloquently enough. i'm simultaniously proclaiming my love for him and bragging about how well it's going. and hoping that we might just be one of those couples everyone loves to hate.

you know, the ones dancing and kissing in the corner at the party? the ones bragging about each other to everyone they meet? yeah, them.

~holly~

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland