new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

a mentor could make life easier
10/22/04 ~ 1:07 p.m.

awesome. it went awesome.

basically, she loves that i'm reseaching to get my bachelors. she's willing to help me every step of the way, be my sponsor, advise me on which decisions to make, etc. AND she basically told me that when i get that degree, she'll hire me as a dietician in one of her clinics.

but! here's the best part. she may have an administrative position open in january. a bit of a pay cut ($12/hr, ugh), not 40 hours a week (more like 25-30), but a foot in the door. and to fill in those other hours, she could hook me up as a receptionist at a health center. so basically, if i hang in here, i can be getting my start in the field when this job ends.

!!!!

i'm a little nervous about a pay cut, plus not sure what will happen benefits-wise, but also excited. it will be more than a job - it will be working closer with a mentor to insure i achieve my career goals. she said she'll train me and groom me to be hired by her as soon as i'm through with school.

and as a bonus, she'll give me tips and monitor my own weight loss and help me get these last 35 pounds off. how cool would that be?

the logistics of fitting everything together is sort of mind-boggling, so for now, i'm just going to relax, keep working on getting the school thing straightened out, and take it from there. i'm meeting with her again (her name is najine, by the way) on dec 10th and we'll figure out my future then.

!!!

meeting with my future
10/22/04 ~ 11:25 a.m.

i'm leaving in about 15 minutes to go meet with the local nutritionist that seems willing to help me out on this new career path. i'm excited, and i'm actually really hopeful that maybe she can hook me up with a gig (even a part time one) at the health center. she mentioned that might be possible. so, we'll see. since my job is in transition anyways, if it's part time, i can just find another part time thing to supplement it. possibly even with edward jones. so we'll see how it goes.

questions i want to ask her:
1. what salary were you making your first year?
2. did you start out working at a hospital before you got your own clinic?
3. is it fulfilling to help people? do you feel like you HAVE helped them?

that's really all i can think of. i'm also going to tell her about all the research i've done on getting a bachelor's degree and see if she thinks i'm barking up the right tree.

wish me luck!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

no good old entries to link. there was only one, and it was all quizzes that now have broken images. why was i so lame with the updating in october every year?

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland