new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

i want to leave my mark
05/22/03 ~ 4:20 p.m.

i just realized that i hadnt changed my layout in over 2 years. that's a LONG time to stick with one, huh? wow. we'll see how long this one lasts.

ok, now for the real entry.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

i wonder sometimes if anyone else has morbid thoughts like i do. i take hypothetical situations and imagine them to the fullest extent. and they're usually not happy.

for example, this morning, as i was driving to work on the freeway, the car in front of me abruptly slammed on its brakes, and i followed suit. we only slowed to about 25 mph, and i was still a good 3 car lengths behind them. so there was no real danger; i was paying attention, everything was fine. but my thoughts started churning.

if i hit someone on the freeway at this speed if they just stopped, is that my fault? what if i couldn't avoid it?

the car would be totalled. would insurance cover it? david would be so mad at me.

but what if i got really hurt? he couldn't be mad then. he'd just be glad i was alive, he wouldn't care about the car. he could always get a new one. but he couldn't get a new me.

what if i was in the hospital? i couldn't take my finals, finish my classes, graduate.

would david be so upset he couldn't take his finals either? or would he pass all his classes and leave me behind? would he move away and i'd have to take all my classes over again?

couldn't they just give me the grades i'd already earned and waive the finals? haven't i worked hard enough? i almost died in a car accident! throw me a bone, people.

i don't know where these thoughts come from. they're sick. twisted. why do i imagine impossible scenarios, and then try to figure out what the worst case would be? why would i think that david would "leave me behind"? he wouldn't "leave", he'd still be there for me. i'd finish my classes, it would all work out.

but every time i have one of these scary thinking episodes, i come out of it thinking about how fragile life is. how the simple act of driving to work, on a normal tuesday, could bring on the end of a life if i'm not careful. even if *i'm* careful, someone else might not be. i put my life in so many other people's hands, all day, every day.

but this train of thought is leading me to my thoughts on dying, which inevitably leads me to a state of panic.

i'm terrified of death. i have not come to peace with it, and probably will not for many, many years.

just the thought of the world going on, and on, and on, forever, without me... it freaks me out. and i try to reassure myself that maybe reincarnation is possible, but even if it is, i don't remember my past life, so i won't remember this life. i won't remember me.

this time, instead of going into total panic, i'm thinking that i really need to figure out a way to pass my memory on. make sure that other people remember me. write a famous book, do something important, make a difference. hopefully, i have most of a lifetime to figure out what that thing will be.

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland