new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

argh, i say. argh.
10/16/01 ~ 7:39 a.m.

well, there was no entry from me yesterday which just further proves my point: school is way too fucking hard. it's a good thing my c.s. partner andy hasn't gotten sick of me (yet) cuz we've been spending SO much time together working on stuff that we don't even understand!! i'm even starting to adapt his way of talking. cracker, man. cracker.

ok, so there was this program. and it was kicking our asses up one side of telnet and down the other side of UNIX. seriously. we had no fucking clue what we were doing. we tried everything - attending freshman tutorials, asking TA's, asking other people in the labs, and eventually, emailing the professor, who is a big fat jerk. does he say he wants to help his students? yes. is he helpful? no. he just makes people feel more stupid.

which is not what we are needing right now. andy and i are brushing it off as a joke, mostly: "they should advertise this. take ECS110 if you need a kick in the ass! guaranteed to lower your self esteem and make you feel stupid and worthless! perfect for egomaniacs who think they're geniuses! sign up now!"

but when we stop joking, we get serious. "have you ever felt so dumb in your life?" "nope. i don't like it at all." "me neither. fuck this shit."

but we're sticking it out. we're gritting our teeth and we tackled that fucker on sunday, and ALL day yesterday. and who kicked that program's ass??????

boo-yah. it was 10:30 and we weren't even slightly tired or hungry because we had so much adrenaline going through our systems. it works. we're going to get it in on time. we might not fail this class! halleluiah!

this is a huge deal for me. i'm one of those annoying people that thinks she should be able to get an A every time she puts half a rat's ass of work into something. B's i've slowly come to accept. i've gotten one C in my life, and i had issues with it. but failing a class? never. i'm like, "holly doesn't fail classes." big denial. so i can breathe easy for a few days before the torture starts up again.

ok, change of subject. i remembered to bring my poster of van gogh's starry night to work today, so it is now up in the window of my cubicle, blocking curious eyes from spying on my as i (don't) work. it reminds me of jenny, cuz she has one in her room and i have always loved looking at it there. i am going to costco on my lunch hour to pick up my developed pictures and get some random stuff, like lots of cat food. i'm hungry now, actually. wonder if the vendor lady is open yet? i need a bagel.

ned's mom paged me on sunday, after watching alice in wonderland at jenny's house. i was hoping it was about thanksgiving, but no. she was just wondering where he was. (like i know? he's in georgia!) but we did discuss thanksgiving, and she should be getting me a ticket soon. she's too afraid to fly across the US now, so she's taking the train. i don't have enough time for that, so i'm gonna take my chances. believe me, i'm going to get you guys all crossing your fingers and praying for me. i just want to go see my baby! =)

that's all for this morning. i should get some of this work in my inbox done before the boss gets here. it's bosses day! gotta make her proud. =)

~holly~

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland