new old guestbook about me links

email
cast pictures aim dreams diet log

100 things

everclear/tahoe
08/31/01 ~ 9:04

i'm going to be gone all weekend! i'll be in south lake tahoe, visiting amy, relaxing, and smoking a lot of pot, i'm sure. so... i'm going to leave you a nice, long entry, complete with pictures!!

my topic of today revolves around my (so-called) favorite band. everclear. i am, after all, the runner of the everclear ring:

(the quote is from "chemical smile" on their second cd, sparkle and fade). i used to be the most hard-core everclear fan you can imagine. in fact, my stats speak for themselves: i've been to 9 concerts, met the band 6 times, danced on stage twice, and ordered food on the band. (you can read my reviews of each concert at http://www.geocities.com/gonzostar/everclear.html). i was the very first everclear fan (not related to the band) to hear the song "now that it's over" performed. the guys, they remember me. well, not art so much, but greg does! and i'm sure they helped inspire my fabulous star tattoo:

but, i'm sad to say, my obession is diminishing. i have alomst a perfect collection of cd's starting from their first stuff up until slightly after so much for the afterglow came out. i have all the singles, burned copies of art's band before everclear "colorfinger", a burned copy of "neverclear", taped copies of all music videos up until "i will buy you a new life", taped interviews, commercials, etc. i had an entire wall covered with posters (one signed), clippings, stars, etc. and of course, drumsticks, picks, and pictures of me with the band. like so:

my highlighting moment was the time art had me sing "local god" with him. luckily i not only have it on a burned cd where you can hear me in the background, i have this picture to remember it by:

after all this, how could my love of the band have faded?

it may be because i'm jaded. i opted *not* to go to the most recent everclear concert because they were opening for matchboxfuckingtwenty in a HUGE arena. this would be nothing like all my small club experiences. plus it was $30! no way.

it may be because the band is too mainstream for my tastes. when 13 year old girls start gushing about how cute the 39-year old lead singer is, i'm out.

it may be because they covered brown eyed girl. ha ha. no really, but i hated that slow ass cover of a great old song.

so... i've changed a lot in these past few years. everclear is less of a part of who i am. but they ceratinly shaped my high school years. when i moved to davis, i didn't put my posters back up. only one picture of me and the band is framed.

but i will never forget all my incredible memories. they'll be scrapbooked forever.

so today i am listening to the two newest everclear cds because i feel bad that i never listen to them. maybe i'll even grow to like them?

i'll end this long entry with 2 more pictures of me from ned's visit. see you all on monday or tuesday!

~holly~

back forth

* check the cast page for details about this person!


diaryland